Wind Music

Piano Quintet

Gabriel Faure

Arranged by Tony Turrill for piano quintet from his piano quartet  op.17


Click on the quaver for excerpts from each movement


for full virtual performances of each movement

    Movement 1

    Movement 2

    Movement 3


Three movements from Faure’s work for piano and string trio: Allegro molto, Adagio and a brisk Finale, Allegro molto.  Faure lovers will realize that  the second movement, Scherzo, has been omitted.  The owes so much of its character to the alternation of light pizzicato and arco strings that it was felt that a wind combination would not do it justice but the remaining movements make a substantial work and an opportunity for wind players to explore Faure’s melodic chamber music at first hand.


Buy now for 24