Wind Music

Serenade  in E Minor


arranged by James Breed for wind octet


   Click on the quaver sign to hear  excerpts from each of three movements.




Here for each movement in turn


movement 1

movement 2

movement 3


Elgar wrote this Serenade in E minor for String Orchestra as a third wedding anniversary present for his wife.  For the composer, it remained a favourite work for the rest his life.  The marking of piacevole (agreeable), whilst appropriate for a serenade, is somewhat belied by the minor key and a sometimes melancholic undertone.  This setting will surprises by the delightful way that it sits on the wind instruments.  As with all James’ arrangements, each instrument takes its turn to enjoy the wonderful melodies. 

James Breed has been a clarinettist for over 50 years and a regular chamber music player.  He has arranged a number of 19th  and early 20th century works,  mostly for octet but also for quintet, sextet, nonet and clarinet and piano

Buy now for 23