Wind Music

Cha b’an grad

William Sweeney

6 Bb Clarinets and a Bass Clarinet


Click here for a full performance


This piece for seven clarinets was arranged by William Sweeney from his opera An Turus as a tribute to Alan Hacker.  It was first played by a group of seven friends at a party to celebrate Alan’s 60th birthday  and finally in 2012 by a choir drawn from  Britain’s ‘great and good’ clarinetists  celebrating Alan’s life at his funeral.

The playing time is only three minutes but, once heard, the haunting  melody, in the Scots Gaelic style, will remain in the listener’s mind for much longer.  This work is an essential addition to any Clarinet Ensemble’s repertoire.  After a brief dissonant opening, the three top clarinets carry the melody, the remaining choir provide a simple continuous ”drone”

A version for saxes has also been prepared by Richard Ingham


Buy now either for 11