Wind Music

Wind Octet

Franz Schubert

Arranged by James Breed from the Violin Sonatina in D



Click on this quaver for brief  excerpts


for full virtual performances click here

   Movement 1

    Movement 2

    Movement 3

Schubert wrote this sonatina in D for violin and piano when he was only nineteen.  This is one of several arrangements for the standard wind octet by James Breed. The Wind Octet, as a  standard , highly resourceful ensemble virtually disappeared in the nineteenth  century.  James Breed  is determined to supplement the repertoire for this ensemble by arrangement of some suitable works from the  romantic repertoire. Why not listen to his version of the Elgar Serenade . 

The Schubert is in three movements, a central andante surrounded by two allegros.  In all three Schubert is in a free and carefree mood.

Buy now for 23